Board of Directors


Bob Johnson

  • Chair of AE Board since 2020
  • Director of the Pyrmonte Group
  • Former CEO of Pacific Access,
  • Producer of Yellow Pages Australia,
  • Executive background in Advertising, Sales and Publishing


Non-Exective Director

Richard Charlton

  • Appointed as Chairman of AE in June 1998
  • Chairman of Australian Institute of Petroleum
  • Board member of Woodside Petroleum and Coles
  • Chairman of Royal Children’s Hospital Research Institute
  • Former Chancellor of the University of Newcastle
  • Former Chairman and CEO of Shell Australia

Non-Executive Director

Robert Jensen

  • Appointed to the Board in June 1998
  • Over 30 years of experience providing taxation and business advice to clients across many industries
  • Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants
  • Master of Taxation from Melbourne University

Non-Executive Independent Director

Kenneth Knight

  • Board member since July 2015
  • Managing Director of a leading manufacturer and wholesaler of LVT flooring
  • Over 25 years experience in senior marketing and general management roles in large and multinational companies

Non-Executive Independent Director

Parnell McGuinness

  • Co-Founder and Managing Director of Strategy and Policy, Agenda C
  • Weekly Columnist for syndicated Nine newspapers,
  • Media Contributor – Various (Sun Herald, Sydney Morning Herald, The Australian, The Australian, The Daily Telegraph, ABC Online,  ABC Radio National and TV, Sky News)


Chief Executive Officer

Suzanne Jackson

  • Board member since June 1994 and CEO for 28 years
  • Experience in international education and working across private and public education (secondary, VET and tertiary)
  • Has founded and managed sole proprietorships